Committees to be updated on statewide radio effort

Senator Randy Vulakovich announced that the Senate Communications and Technology Committee, which he chairs, will meet in joint session with the Senate Law and Justice Committee, the Senate Transportation Committee and the Senate Veterans Affairs and Emergency Preparedness Committee to hold a joint public hearing to receive an update on the statewide radio system.

The hearing is set for 9:30 a.m., Wednesday, September 25, in Hearing Room 1 of the North Office Building in the state capitol complex.

“This has been a long and costly process and we believe it is time to receive an update from state and local officials to determine what progress has been made, the effectiveness of the system and if there is a timetable for having the system fully operational,” said Sen. Vulakovich, a former police sergeant and current member of the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency.

“When disaster strikes, a working radio may be the only lifeline our first responders have,” said Senator Lisa Baker, Chair of the Senate Veterans Affairs & Emergency Preparedness Committee.  “As legislators, we will continue to investigate and advocate for an emergency communications system that works everywhere, every time, because 100 percent reliable, immediate, two-way communication is the backbone of our emergency response network.”

Scheduled testifiers include: Major Scott Neal, Director of the Bureau of Communications and Information Systems for the Pennsylvania State Police; Glenn Cannon, Director of the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency; Cumberland County Commissioner Barbara Cross, representing the County Commissioners Association of Pennsylvania; and York Area Regional Police Department Chief Thomas Gross, representing the Pennsylvania Chiefs of Police Association.


Diane McNaughton, Executive Director, Veterans Affairs & Emergency Preparedness Committee (717) 787-7428
Heather Cevasco, Chief of Staff to Senator McIlhinney, Law & Justice Committee (717) 787-7305
Nate Silcox, Executive Director, Communications & Technology Committee (717) 787-6538
Nathan Spade, Executive Director, Transportation Committee (717) 787-1398